A Year in Review


2012 in reviewwho comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. 2 Cor. 1:4

Recently on Face Book I was offered the opportunity to click a tab and in return have my photos and posts summarized from 2012.  They coined it my “Year in Review.”  It was fun to scroll back through the year and view computer friendly memories.  Memories of trips taken, sweet times with friends and goals accomplished.

At the end of my scrolling however I couldn’t help but ponder all that was not posted.

~ The day I sat across from the concerned pediatrician who gently placed in my hands the x-ray results which revealed a tumor filling my 13 year old daughter’s entire chest cavity.

~ The day we sat with the Oncologists as they explained the Chemotherapy that would be coursing through her body, each medicine with its own set of potentially dreadful side effects.

~ The days spent eating in the hospital cafeteria, sleeping next to her hospital bed, emptying the puke pot, sobbing long distance to far away friends  and struggling to pray to a God who felt very far away.

~The day my daughter, balding and beautiful took my hand and reassured me that the Lord was faithful, that she felt closer to Him than she ever had and that it really was going to be okay.

~The day, months into the journey that the scans revealed the tumor was completely gone and we received the report that her bone marrow tested disease free.

~The day we exchanged tears for laughter on one of the many long rides to clinic and took flowers to cheer up others we knew we would see there.

These are only a few of the memories that were not posted on Face Book yet will forever be etched into my heart and mind.

My guess is that you too have memories, tears, heartache and stress that have not been displayed upon your Face Book page.  Parts of this year’s journey which simply did not mesh with the upbeat posts, smiling pictures and silly jokes scrolled through by the masses.

Moments of fear, vulnerability and weakness that didn’t make the cut for social media.

Moments unshared that have impacted forever the person you are and will forever be.

Moments when you felt so utterly alone in your pain that nothing by way of a human being could touch it.

And I am confident, that in these moments, He spoke to you too.

His comfort soothed your aching heart.

His peace calmed your inner storm.

His strength enabled you to continue moving forward into whatever lay before you.

I approach the new year with a sigh of relief. I’m thankful to leave behind this leg of our journey.  I’m thankful for what we have survived.  I’m thankful the majority of the hardest part of treatment is over.  I’m thankful for all that He has done and all I know He will continue to do.

My prayer is that as He has been faithful to minister strength, comfort, love and peace to me this year that He will give me opportunity to minister those very things to others in the upcoming year.

If there is any lesson that we have learned well,  it is that life is both precious and fleeting.  Each day is a gift.  Each moment an opportunity.

I pray, in this upcoming year that I recognize each and every opportunity to share this comfort He has offered me, with others.

I pray the same for you.

Father thank you for your comfort; thank you for allowing me the privilege of sharing that comfort with others.  Help me to always be both attentive and willing. 

5 Comments

Filed under Testimony

5 responses to “A Year in Review

  1. Lora

    This is beautiful, Tanya. I love to read your thoughts. Sometimes you make me laugh, today you made me cry, but you always make me celebrate my Father’s goodness. Love you. Lora

  2. and it always brings joy to my heart to hear from you!

  3. Liz

    Love this… Love you….

  4. I love this! What a testimony to God and to your obedience. Praise Him!

I would love to hear what you have to say!

