Just Do It


Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.

(James 1:22) NIV

The sound of feet rhythmically meeting with the ground greets our ears before the image eases into focus. Slowly, as pixels unify we are offered the rear view image of a runner.  Stride after stride they move forward, arms and legs working together in perfect unison. With the backdrop of either beautiful mountains, lush green paths or maybe even a splendid seashore, sweat glistens pristinely upon the lean and muscular body offering proof of the energy sacrificed for the sake of the cause.  From nowhere in particular comes one voice, offering one line.  “Just do it.”  Nothing else needs to be said.

The marketers know what they are doing.  Just watching this runner, unhindered, with both strength and power causes me to feel empowered, inspired and motivated.  It makes me want to be a runner!

I have a pair of brand name tennis shoes.  I have “running” shorts with a nifty little pocket on the inside for my IPOD.  I have special running socks that are suppose to suck the moisture right off of my feet while I run to ensure comfort. I even have a heavy duty sports bra that mimics the runner on the commercial.  No one can ever accuse me of not being prepared to run.

I wish that all it took to be a runner was the equipment.  I can look like a runner all day long.  But it’s not enough to look like a runner.

I have a longing and desire to be a runner.  I love the idea of running.  It looks like a great way to relieve stress while at the same time live healthy. But it’s not enough to long and desire to be a runner.

I have learned that it takes a little bit more.  In order to be a runner, you actually have to run.

In both the life of a runner and the life of a believer there is an act of becoming.  No one starts out on their first day ready to run a marathon.  The same is true as a Believer.

There are many places I desire to be more fruitful as a Christian.  I desire to pray more, study more, worship more.  I long to walk in love better, forgive more freely, understand more deeply.  I desire for peace, patience and perseverance to be more evident in my life.

The only way to become stronger in any of these areas is to begin to walk in them more. Therein lies the process of becoming.

No one starts out as a runner.  They start out by running.  It is in the consistent act of running that they eventually are able to identify themselves as a runner.  The same is true with any aspect of the Christian Walk.

You want to have a closer relationship with the Lord?

Just do it.

You want to have a stronger prayer life?

Just do it.

You want to worship in both Spirit and Truth?

Just do it. 

You want to be a diligent student of the Word?

Just do it.

There is no shame in the process of becoming, for we are all in this process.  Day by day, step by step, choice by choice.  And in those places where we struggle, where fear failure, where we wonder if we will ever become that which we desire, we can be confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in us will be faithful to complete it until the day of Christ Jesus (Philippians 1:6).

What strides will you take today in the process of becoming who the Lord has called you to be?

Father, thank you for Your faithfulness in my process of becoming. 

1 Comment

Filed under Christian Growth, Faith, obedience, Prayer

One response to “Just Do It

  1. I’m smiling as I read this because I have been a runner but don’t consider myself a runner. I did a half marathon in Sept. but have not runs since. Why? because it does take time, commitment, and perseverance. Time away from other things like time with The Lord and family. That’s what I’m choosing to do now because it is essential to my well being. There will be time again when my bones start to ache and flesh gets flabby this winter that I will put my shoes back on again, but even of all disciples, I chose God about flesh. I love this post, great words.

I would love to hear what you have to say!

