One Day


But, beloved, do not forget this one thing, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.  2 Peter 3:8 (NKJ)          

Recently I came across an internet ad for a “One Day Diet.”   While making my “yea right” face I gingerly clicked on the little link.  I was fairly certain that if there was a one day diet worth its weight in carrot sticks I would have  heard about it long before now.

The popular television personality offered an explanation.  If someone could follow this diet for only one day, then they would have proven to themselves that they could indeed make healthy food choices.  This revelation was to trigger inspiration which supposedly was the key to continued success.

I realized then that I had been on the One Day Diet lots of times… sometimes even the two or three day diet before my self-resolve dwindled and I scarfed down that piece of double layered chocolate cake that had been screaming my name since I had decided to begin.

The truth is, in most respects one day of anything doesn’t really count for much.

Instead,  it is a lifestyle of consistency and discipline that tends to yield the results we seek in any  one area.  It’s why I will never be able to identify myself as a weightlifter, a marathon runner or a basketball player.  It’s why I will never have a reputation as a chef, a stellar house cleaner or a gardener.

On the other hand, it is why I will walk across the stage in May decorated in cap and gown to receive my third diploma.  It’s one of the reasons why I’ve been married for sixteen years.  It’s why I call myself a writer of devotionals.

Our priorities are evident in our choices.

There is a place however where this principal is suspended.  The Word of God tells us that with the Lord, one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.

Could you imagine if this were so in other areas of life?  If one day of exercise equaled even a thousand days?!  One day of disciplined eating equaled a thousand?!

Yet, it is only in this one place where this atypical conversion chart of time remains.

In Matthew 9:20 we are introduced to a woman who had been bleeding for 12 years.  Not ten thousand, but, my guess is that it probably felt like ten thousand to her.  In Mark 5:26 we are told that for years she had spent all that she had and endured much at the hands of many physicians trying to get better, all to no avail.  Then, in the one day she met Jesus, what she could not achieve in all the years prior took place in an instant when she reached out and touched the garment of the one whom she knew could make her whole.

In one day with the Lord you can experience the  same benefit and result, of spending a thousand years anywhere else.

One day with the Lord is sufficient enough to alter your life for eternity.  In one day, the Lord can overcome the lies with truth, the darkness with light and the pain with healing.

One day with the Lord is adequate to set the captive free, bind up the broken hearted and exchange beauty for ashes.

One day with the Lord can cause the lame to walk and the blind to see.

One day with the Lord miraculously transformed your identity from an orphan destined for Hell to a child of the Most High God.

With those odds, why would we not desire to spend every day with Him?

Have you spent time with him today?

Father, thank you for the gift of Your presence each and every day.    

1 Comment

Filed under healing

One response to “One Day

  1. Absolutely beautiful. And I will be cheering for you as you walk across that stage.

I would love to hear what you have to say!

