Every Body


But now God has set the members, each one of them, in the body just as He pleased. And if they were all one member, where would the body be? 1 Cor 12:18-19 (NKJ)

I didn’t immediately recognize the voice on the other end of the line when I answered the phone.  “Hey Tanya, I was just wondering if it would be okay if I brought some Mums by your house?”  Immediately I smiled.  Fall Mums are one of my favorite parts of Autumn and at that moment my porch was not adorned with even one.  Somehow in the chaos and crises that we had been experiencing in our lives Mums had not been a priority.

I couldn’t help but feel humbled at such an unexpected offer of kindness.  This sweet sister arrived within the hour gingerly placing upon my porch three beautiful pots full of bright yellow flowers announcing to anyone who passed that  Fall had indeed arrived.

She had no idea that yellow was my very favorite color.  She had no idea the depth that the impractical luxury of   potted plants would minister to my soul.  She had no idea that when she thought she was “just bringing flowers” that what she was really doing was being used by God to remind me

1) of how much He loved me

2)  that He remembered the desires of my heart

3) that He indeed had not left or forsaken me in this very difficult season.

As I watched her bring each plant from her car I meditated on all of this within to the point that thankfulness ran down my cheeks.

In response she said “I just felt like that was what the Lord was leading me to do….I wish I could do more.”  It had been the sentiment of so many.  Her compassion and kindness was so very genuine and heartfelt that it left me feeling overwhelmed.

A time when we felt we had nothing to give.  A time when our own life circumstances had made it necessary that we focus inward on our family. At that time when we were not able to give back, it was the Body of Christ that poured selflessly, through their generosity, compassion and love into our lives in so many places.  One person could not have done it all, but when the Body of Christ reached out to us it was beautiful to see how the unique gifts within each life was used to express the love of Christ.

The gifts varied, but the heart behind them remained the same.  So many cooked splendid meals and dropped them off on clinic days offering one less thing for me to think about.  Others gave generous financial gifts or gift cards to help meet our needs.  Many sent beautifully written cards of love and encouragement.  Others spent countless hours before the throne lifting up our family for strength, peace and healing.  Some rearranged their entire lives to travel across the country to offer up close comfort.  Others met practical needs like childcare on hospital days or so my husband and I could have a date night.  Not one of the gifts of love and support went unnoticed or unappreciated.

Although many members utilized their own unique gifts, abilities or talents to minister to our family, those gifts blended together to cover us like a blanket with the love of Christ in the most meaningful of ways.

We have been taught by the Body of Christ what it truly means to be the Body of Christ.  Perhaps this has been the greatest gift of all.

Be open to being led by the Lord as to how to minister to the Body of Christ.  You never know how He could use your act of obedience to speak loud of His love into someone’s life.

Father, let my gifts be a blessing to the Body of Christ. 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Every Body

  1. I wish I could bring a cup of coffee so we could sit and share and pray together. But I will do that over the miles without the coffee. Praying for your daughter and your ministry.

I would love to hear what you have to say!

