What If?


Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. John 14:27

So much of our fear and anxiety come from the inability to know what will happen. The enemy wants us to maintain an earthly rather than an eternal perspective as he has us focus on the fear of the “What If?”

I have found that if I only glance for a moment at the “what if” and turn my head away because it is too scary or ugly, my thoughts can run wild causing me to be consumed. In these times I wonder if the Lord has considered my situation before he issued the command of “Do not let your hearts be troubled?”  It sometimes can seem not only difficult, but impossible to be obedient.

Recently, our family has faced some very difficult medical issues.  Let’s be real, the biggest fear that anyone faces when dealing with medical issues are “what if” they die? Now, from the beginning, overall I have been thankful to have peace in that place. However, there have been moments…when the doctor gave us a negative report …. when I saw a news story about someone dying of the same illness….this is when the enemy would come and try to torment my soul with the biggest “what if” there is.

To survive, I must take that thought captive to the obedience of Christ (2 Cor. 10:5).  To take that thought captive I must face it and deal with it.

So, I broke it down- Okay- what IF death did result from this? What would that mean?

Well- obviously I can’t imagine experiencing a pain more excruciating- I can’t imagine the heartache that would be involved for our family. BUT-  I know that we would hurt for us, not for the one who passed because they would be with Jesus- and we would see them again one day.  Ultimately, whatever pain, hurt and loss that we faced the Lord would be faithful to get us through.

When I really break down the worst possible outcome and look at it from an eternal perspective rather than an earthly one, it steals the power of the enemy to torment me with fear and anxiety. Because ultimately, we win, he loses and God is still on the throne.

As humans, we despise pain and discomfort and will avoid it at all costs.  The truth however is that we all do face pain- we all face hurt- we all face heartache and difficulties– and it is in these times when we really are faced with deciding whether we believe the Word of God is true or not.

Either He is faithful- or He isn’t… Either He loves us…or He doesn’t. Either His Word is true…or it isn’t.

Even when things don’t look like we think they should.

Even when we don’t understand.

Even when we hate where we find ourselves.

Even when it doesn’t make sense.

We have different pain but the same faithful God. And ultimately- whatever we face, we never face it alone.

Although it can be difficult, I wonder if it might help you to go ahead and just look at the “what-ifs” in the situation you are facing?  Consider the ultimate bottom-line of the issue the enemy is trying to torment you with.

And then remember to not let your heart be troubled. The Lord loves you, His Word is true,  and He is faithful to never leave or forsake you.  Always remember that the true bottom line is that we win, the enemy loses and Christ is still on the throne.

Father, help me to not let my heart be troubled.  Help me remember the ultimate bottom line in every situation. 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What If?

  1. Tanya, there is much truth in this post. Honest feelings that many of us think but are afraid to say out loud. Thank you for sharing your heart.

  2. Michael Conner

    Over the last year I have experienced a lot of what ifs myself. Before, I used to be so paralyzed by fear that I would not take any action. I’ve stepped out in faith, trusting Him along the way. Not everything turned out well, but I see where He was with me the whole time and actually preparing the way for the next step. In all of it, I’ve grown so much closer to Him and desire His fellowship more and more. He is so faithful and so good. Not sure what you are going through, but my prayers are with your family.

I would love to hear what you have to say!

