Through


When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you.  Isaiah 43:2 (NKJ) 

I smiled tensely as he pulled closer, instinctively stepping back away from the road. “No, I don’t need a ride sir…actually, I am exercising….thank you though” My tone indicated how ridiculous even I knew it was.  I mean, who chooses to exercise smack dab in the middle of the day in 95 degree weather?   He arched his eyebrows indicating confusion at the absurdity and tersely responded with “Oh, I thought you had broken down…okay then.”

I kept walking.

My phone rang and as my legs slowly lunged forward my hands reached to grab it.  It was my husband who could tell by my “hello” that something was awry.  I shared with him that I was in fact on a walk, and wasn’t feeling very well because, I thought, it was so hot outside and I had gone too far. In a rebuke filled with concern he stated  “Well that was foolish, will you go home please?”  Subduing the urge to sarcastically thank Him for stating the obvious I responded “yes love, that’s what I’m trying to do.”

The cramp in my side was hurting as I realized that the four cups of morning coffee failed to hydrate me well for this endeavor. My head was pounding and my face and neck felt like they were on fire.  Every step begged for me to just sit down a minute and take a rest.  The problem was, I was walking along the side of a fairly busy country road with no-where to stop and rest.  A friend just happened to drive by going the opposite direction.  She smiled, waved and drove on…my pride kept me from waving her down and asking her to give me a ride home.

I kept walking.

As I walked I contemplated my choice to begin walking in the first place.  I had meant to start earlier in the day because I knew it was going to be hot.  The temperature when I stepped out on my covered porch had been at least ten degrees cooler than what I was now experiencing.  I had considered remaining only in my neighborhood however had decided to do my normal several miles because “if I was going to do it I might as well make it count.”  If I would have had the energy it would have been that moment that I would have kicked myself for my over-achieving tendencies.

I kept walking

With home again in sight, I couldn’t even muster enough energy to speed up and get there more quickly.  I found a shady spot under a tree and lay in the shade to catch my breath allowing my heart to slow down.  Moments later I felt the ants whom I had carelessly disturbed crawling all over my right arm.  Frustrated I got up, brushed them off and kept walking.

As hard as it was and as bad as I felt, the only way I was going to get home was to get through the walk.

As often it does my minded posed the question ” Lord, is there a devotional in this?”

He reminded me of the many things in life I had had to walk through.  Many times it was painful, many times I fought mental and emotional exhaustion, many times all I wanted to do was quit and yet, the only way to overcome was to walk through.

Daughter of God, do you find yourself in the midst of a difficult situation?  Be encouraged that He is the God that walks with you as you walk through.

Thank you Father that you walk with me through every situation that we face. 

2 Comments

Filed under Analogies

2 responses to “Through

  1. JJ

    Ugh! I can feel the misery as I read this! You stubborn thing!!! Smile.

I would love to hear what you have to say!

