Mirror Mirror


And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

 Romans 12:2-5 (NKJ)

“Mirror Mirror on the wall who is the fairest of them all?”  I think that Snow White’s stepmother had self-esteem issues because honestly, she looked pretty good to me.  Perhaps a little time in the sun would have done her some good but hey- nobody’s perfect.

Struggling with self esteem issues myself,  I spent far more time in the past looking into mirrors than I do now.  Living with an eating disorder for years I was absolutely consumed with the way that I looked. I probably wasted what amounted to months of my life staring into different mirrors trying to conform the image I saw staring back at me into something that I thought would be appealing.

Things have changed a great deal. These days I take a very brief look in the mirror each morning to just make sure there is nothing completely out of sorts.  For the most part, I spend as little time as possible looking into the mirror on the wall; I figured out that my appearance doesn’t really ever change much except for a few grey hairs now and then reminding me that it’s time to make a hair appointment.

At some point along the journey, I came to realize that the true reflection of who I am has very little to do with what I see in the mirror.

We all have mirrors in life that we spend time looking into.  We can allow our reflections to be formed by our family, our friends our callings and our careers if we so choose.    We have a tendency to determine our worth, value and significance by the response we get from those in life who surround us.

We happily embrace the reflections of ourselves that we receive from those we value and toss aside those we receive from those we don’t. Above all however, what we believe about who we are has the most powerful impact upon the way we think, behave and live our lives.

Have you ever been in a Fun House Mirror Hall at a carnival? The ones lined with distortive mirrors? Some make you look short and stout, some make you look very thin and tall (those ones are my favorite) and some mirrors exaggerate a physical quality, often distorting your image.  Not all mirrors offer accurate reflections, some could tell the truth, some could lie-it all depends on the reliability of the mirror.

Sometimes, like those Funhouse mirrors, we hold a distorted image.

Both pride and insecurity are features of self centeredness which if not brought under submission to the Lord impede our ability to accurately reflect Christ into the lives of others.

You see- there is an important transformation that needs to take place on a daily basis- but rather than the transformation of beast to beauty that I sometimes feel confronted with on a particularly difficult morning, the true transformation that we must remain focused on is the transformation that comes through the renewing of our minds through the washing of God’s Word.

As Romans 12 tells us- this is the acceptable and perfect will of God.  Where is it necessary for our minds to be renewed?  In any place where what is within us does not align with the truth of God’s Word.  When what is within us perfectly aligns with His truth, it is only then that we will be able to most effectively reflect Christ into the lives of those around us.

Father, help me to be a reflection of you into the lives of others.  Change in me those things which hinder it from being so. 

Leave a comment

Filed under reflection of Christ

I would love to hear what you have to say!

