Hallmark Moments


Image

And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

Phil. 4:19 (NKJ) 

I have a strong affection for greeting cards. Choosing them, sending them, receiving them- just passing by a Hallmark store sends warm fuzzies coursing through my veins.  There is little that compares to the joy of finding that “just right card” for someone you love.  The one whom you know is going to smile and feel especially special upon opening and reading. It’s like a tangible hug, a material smile, a hold-able memento of affirmation.

That being shared, I’m sure it comes as no surprise that I am easily able to spend many enjoyable hours just browsing the greeting card section at any store that has one. In fact, this has always been one of my favorite activities except around Mother’s Day.

For most years of my life, the weeks before Mother’s Day only served as a reminder of what I didn’t have and always wanted.  The cards filled with descriptions of motherly love followed with sentiments of thankfulness and appreciation only served to taunt my wounded, angry and bitter heart.  I felt cheated. The most generic of generic cards would be chosen, signed and sent with a heavy heart feeling like I was only doing was I was supposed to.  My heart longed for what those cards described.

My mother died the Sunday before Mother’s Day in 2008.  It was several years before I was able to face and grieve her death.  Doing so was one of the most difficult and painful experiences I have ever known.

In that grief however, the Lord brought healing to my heart; in that healing there was a veil that was lifted from my eyes.  As I examined the content of both my life and my heart, I realized that although I did not have the relationship with my birth mother that I would have desired,  the Lord had given me many mothers.

Along my journey I could not deny that many beautiful women had taken time to invest into the woman I have become.

A mother loves unconditionallyI have experienced that unconditional love

A mother guides, supports and directsMany have done so for me

A mother encourages, cheers and dotesMy heart fills as I recall those women

A mother gently corrects and brings truth in loveso thankful for those women in my life

A mother is a friend, one you can have fun with and be yourselfI smile with the memories

A mother lives by example I marvel at the women whose footsteps I am honored to follow

A mother listens with a heart that hearsso many have taken time to listen to me

A mother sees through eyes of faithBeing treated as a treasure instead of trash helped me to                                                                    overcome

As I contemplated these truths,  I realized that I had a choice.  I could spend the rest of my life lamenting over what I had never had with my birth mother; or I could choose a heart of thankfulness for all of the different women the Lord had placed within my life to love me in the different ways that they have.

Indeed He had supplied all my needs~ for a mother’s love~ according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

This year, I stood in front of the card section with a much different attitude.  I wonder if people around me grew curious as they watched me choose card, after card….after card.  I will not miss an opportunity to be purposefully thankful for God’s provision in my life ever again.

Father~ Thank you for every single woman you have allowed into my life to offer love, support, encouragement and truth.  Thank you for opening my eyes to the truth of your provision in every area of my life. 

Leave a comment

Filed under healing, Mother, Testimony

I would love to hear what you have to say!

