Keep the Change


 Now the LORD had said to Abram: “Get out of your country, From your family, And from your father’s house, to a land that I will show you.” Gen 12:1 NKJ

“Outward processor” that I am, my husband was a faithful sounding board as I worked through the options again…and again….and again. He just listened while I laid out our choices, picked them up and scrutinized them, and then repeatedly found myself at the same indisputable conclusion.  God was asking me to make a change.

Up until this point I had been comfortable where I was.  For months though, the Lord had been revealing to me, in the gentle way that He does, that it was time to move forward into the next thing.  Unwilling to deal with the brewing discontentment,  I shoved it into to the pile  labeled denial.  The inner nudge was confirmed however when that which once seemed easy, was easy no longer, and the satisfaction, joy and fulfillment that had once been now waned.  Each were replaced by an undeniable hunger for more and different.   Seeking Him to discern the lack of peace, it was found when I acknowledged the life transition He was leading me to walk in.

Transiton

1. a:  passage from one state, stage, subject or place to another  : CHANGE

Because change is one of my least favorite things,  I struggle not to grimace at my change loving friends.  To them, change magnifies life as an adventure; and venture they do, diving boldly into the deep places of the unknown equipped with faith.  Me, I’m more of a stick my toe in the water kind of girl when it comes to transition; because we all know that, once you do a cannon ball into the pool of change, there are no takesy-backsys.

Change requires Faith.  Change requires Trust.  Change requires us to step out blindfolded into the unknown.  It demands our own willingness to allow the Spirit of God to lead and guide us into all truth, all the while trusting that He is making our path straight and will not allow us to fall.  Change, in my opinion, is hard and each time it knocks upon the door of my life, I quietly  peek out of the peephole of my heart, deciding whether I will let it in.

I know that God’s Word is complete, infallible and undeniably true.  When I read the account of Abram however something seems to be missing.  God told Abram to “go,” and Abram went. I would love to have been the fly upon that tent flap when he went home and shared this news with his wife Sarai.  Had I been her I’m sure I would have responded something like “So, let me get this straight; we are packing up everything we have, and leaving everyone we know, to go …and we don’t even know where we are going?!”

I might need to read it again because somehow I missed the part where they whined, cried, feared, questioned and doubted in response to God’s command before they were obedient.  It isn’t there; They heard, and they obeyed.  They trusted their God which told them to “go” so much that they knew if He was telling them to go, then where He was taking them had to be better  that where they now were.

That same God who told them to “go” is just as faithful within my own life, and yours too.  What is familiar always seems safer than the unknown.  The truth remains however that God loves us so much that if He is telling us to “go,” then we can be confident that where He is leading us is the best place for us to be.

Father, help me to have the courage to obey when you tell me to “go.” 

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Trust

I would love to hear what you have to say!

