Safe Keeping


I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you. Psalm 119:11

My son repeated his scripture memory verse frantically over and over again.  Having forgotten until just that moment, he was attempting to commit it to memory before it was “due” in his Bible class. This behavior, obviously resulting from procrastination primed the pump of mommy wisdom within me.  As I was about to use his current anxiety an example of exactly why procrastination is a poor choice, he broke his mantra of repetition and with frustration offered “why do we even need to memorize scripture anyways…what’s the point?”  Spared from the lecture that almost was I was thankful for the teachable moment that had presented itself.

I shared with him something that had happened with his big sister just last week.  As I was driving my daughter to a sleepover I deliberately paused in casual conversation to introduce all that was floating around in my brain with “So…”  Before I could get out the next word she looked me straight in the eyes and counting off each point by sticking a digit in the air said “yes I have my toothbrush, yes I brought modest pajamas and yes, I will be good and have a good time.”  She then tilted her head forward, smiled at me with a sideways grin and raised her eyebrows; obviously feeling proud of herself for having me pegged.

I looked at her in silence for a moment feeling that she had literally taken the words right out of my mouth. I laughed at her self-assured humor in knowing what I was going to say before I said it and even her playful imitation of my mannerisms and intonation.  “How did you know that was exactly what I was going to say?!” I asked with a wide grin on my face. “Mom, I’ve been your daughter for thirteen years, that’s what you always say before I go to a sleepover.” Mission accomplished.

I have been depositing words of wisdom and truth into my daughter’s heart for thirteen years.  Now, those words live within her heart and whenever she goes to a sleepover they are there, waiting, ready to guide her.

The same is true for the words of our Father.  We deposit scripture within our heart for safe keeping.  When we encounter different situations, we are so much better off to have God’s words on that matter already within us, ready for exhortation, encouragement, wisdom and teaching either for ourselves or others.

Romans 12:2 tells us And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

This renewing of our mind comes primarily through the impartation of His word into our hearts.  When we have meditated upon, gotten revelation on and held firm to His perspective on things, so begins the process of being molded and transformed into His image.  It is when what He says is so big on the inside of us that it overrides our human way of thinking and pulls our hearts toward the divine.

A member within the body of Christ who possesses the truth of God’s word within them is well equipped to be a vessel that God can use to pour love, truth and encouragement into the lives of others.  So many times when asked to pray for someone, the situation can be so overwhelming that I find myself at a loss.  At these times I am especially thankful for that truth from scripture which stands as a sure foundation for all of God’s children that I can pray over and into the lives of others.

Thank you Lord for your word.  Let it be a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Growth

I would love to hear what you have to say!

