Standard of Measure


  till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ; Eph 4:13 (NKJV)

 

I knew right away that something was wrong.  I paused for a moment and evaluated the damage that had been done.  Involuntarily grimacing, I sucked in my breath and raised my eyebrows simultaneously…this wasn’t going to be pretty. After silently contemplating for a moment any possible alternative to making things worse than they already were, I continued cutting my husband’s hair.  Maybe, if I just acted like everything was normal, he wouldn’t notice….

I had been cutting his hair for years.  At some point, in the beginning of our marriage we decided that for the sake of finances I would not only be his wife and the mother of his children, but also his bi-monthly barber.  It required sacrifice on both of our parts.  I agreed to diligently study the tri-fold hair cutting informational pamphlet included in the box of clippers that we bought and he agreed to don the distinct style otherwise known as “my wife gave me this haircut.”  Over time however, with patience on his part and practice on mine, I did get better.  For years actually it had simply become part of our routine and something we didn’t even think about…until today.

After countless cuts we had now, for the first time, encountered technical difficulties.  The replacement trimmers that I had recently purchased were faulty.  The blades which I switched out during the course of each trim were “off.”  Start with a “4 blade”, then use a 3, then a 2, then a 1.  That was the way I had always done it, the way it had always worked…until now.

When I finished I tentatively told him that I thought it was a “little” shorter than usual, the new blades seem to cut a little differently.  “Okay” he said. I inhaled…see, I reassured myself, everything was going to be fine.  He got up and went to take a shower.  I began to sweep up.  For a moment I even convinced myself that everything was normal, he was going to be fine, the haircut was going to be fine…I smiled inwardly, everything was fine!

I cringed and felt sorrowful only for a moment when I heard him yell “WHAT IN THE WORLD DID YOU DO TO MY HAIR!!!”  My defenses rose quicker than the hair on an angry cat’s back.  “What?!” I stated defensively (as if I didn’t know).  Before he could even answer I retorted, my charade of feigned ignorance rapidly crumbling “I’m Sorry!  It wasn’t MY fault! Something was wrong with the clippers!!”

Thankfully, my husband’s hair is thick, and it grows very quickly.

After a little investigation we discovered that the problem originated in the improper measurement of the blades that accompanied our clippers.  There is a proper standard of measure.  When that standard of measure is not met things do not turn out the way they should.

The church, filled with children of God, is called to meet a specific standard of measure. To be the Body of Christ is that standard of measure.  Ephesians 4:13 tells us that unity is the key to fulfilling this call.  The truth is, there is no perfect church and every church is filled with imperfect people.  Despite this truth, the Father has still charged us with the task of unifying in our faith to accomplish His will upon the earth.  As we lay aside personal differences, placing our focus upon serving and pleasing God, only then will we be able to fulfill that which He has called us to as His body.

Father, help me to be a unifying force in the church body in which you have placed me. 

1 Comment

Filed under Analogies, Christian Growth, church, Offense, The Body of Christ, Unity

One response to “Standard of Measure

  1. Well said, Tanya. Pleasing only our audience of One will serve us well as we navigate the sometimes troubled waters in the Body of Christ.

I would love to hear what you have to say!

