Same ‘ol Same ‘ol


 Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

Hebrews 13:8 (NIV)

 PB&J, a cheesestick, yogurt, chips, granola bar and an apple.  My husband has been taking a packed lunch to work with him for nine years and the contents of that lunch have never changed.

Even without having ever eaten it, just thinking of the sustained “sameness” of his choices makes the combination of never changing options distasteful to me.  Often, when packing his lunch, I offer him something different thinking that surely he must be tired of eating the same thing every single day.  Each time however he assures me that he likes what he takes and is content to take what he likes; that is what makes sense to him.

This is just one more place where I realize that the Lord has gifted me with a Beloved who is my exact opposite.

As I look through pictures of even the last five years I notice more hair colors than I can count on one hand, and more hairstyles than I can count on two!  I often clean out my closet for the sole purpose of refilling it with new and different options simply because I get bored with wearing the same things over and over again and more than a couple days of the same food choices cause even me to begin to put some of my limited culinary skills into action.

This difference in demeanor spills over into other places in our lives as well.  My husband presents the same whether he is happy, sad, excited or bored.   If you truly know him you might have an inkling of what may be going on in his heart but for the most part calm, cool and collected is what is perceived by 99.9% of the individuals he encounters.  I on the other hand am as transparent as Saran Wrap.  For the most part whatever is going on in my heart is on display for the world to see.

If we were vegetables he would be celery and I would be a jalapeno. Colors? He would be beige and I would be bright, fire engine red.  He is the one the Lord has given me to hold onto my ankles to keep me from floating away as I follow my dreams.  God knew exactly what I needed in a husband.

My husband is the vessel that the Lord has chosen to teach me of His never changing faithfulness, stability and security.  He is an on-earth representation of so many characteristics of my heavenly Father.

The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” Deut 31:8.

Even more than my husband, my God never changes.  The Word tells us that He is the same yesterday, today and forever.  He is not moved or changed by circumstance or motion.

photo by Wylio

He is the Rock we can stand upon when the waters rise around us; He is our firm foundation.

What a blessing this is for those of us who call Him Father.  We never have to wonder what we are going to get with Him for He always presents the same 100% of the time.  His love never fails and love, in its perfect form that casts out fear, is what He offers us every day in relationship with Him.  Regardless of what circumstances we may face He remains stable, trustworthy, faithful and steadfast.  His Word is truth and the anchor to our ever-stirring souls.

He never leaves us or forsakes us and can always be found in the same place …  His throne room of grace where He encourages us to run boldly in our time of need.

 Father, thank you for the security that I have found in all that You are…

1 Comment

Filed under Father God, Marriage

One response to “Same ‘ol Same ‘ol

  1. Ahhh, Tanya, you have made a beautiful analogy of your husband and our Heavenly Father. My husband does the same for me … his scatter-brained, free-spirited yet sometimes drop dead deadly wife. I am so grateful for the stability and steadfastness of my husband. And yet my Father in Heaven is unfathomably more … all.

    Astonishing.

I would love to hear what you have to say!

