Deer Lessons


A “walk in the woods” has the ability to capture the interest of a little boy like little else, and occasionally you have the distinct privilege of being invited along.  This week among the rocks, weeds, burs and small creeks we stumbled upon an unexpected discovery.

Hidden so well among the thicket that it could have more easily been missed as seen was a recently born fawn lying perfectly still. Just steps away, large almond shaped, chocolate brown eyes peered back at us with a certain tenacity to remain immobilized, hoping that its camouflage would serve its purpose well.

Its mother foraging for food, the young fawn had been left defenseless except for its ability to hide in a paralyzed state where it had been left.  I can almost picture her saying to him as she left …”now be very still and quiet and hide here until I return.”  To remain still while hidden was the instinctive defense of this defenseless one.

Ever felt defenseless?   I have. In those times when circumstances seemed to be beyond my ability to control I have felt that way.  In those times when what really happened was the opposite of all that seemed right and good.  Times when there was no way to fathom an explanation that would ever be sufficient enough to explain that which my heart struggled to contend with.  Times when I felt afraid, powerless and defenseless to defend myself against the enemies which raged against my soul.

It is in these very times when we do not know what to do and feel that there is nothing that we can do that the Lord encourages us with exactly what it is that we should and must do if we are to survive.  Hide and be still- the longer we walk with Him the more instinctive these behaviors will become.

Psalm 46:10 tells us Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.

Psalm 32:7 tells us You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. Selah

As we walked away from that little deer I could imagine the huge dose of relief that must have flooded over it.  How its heart must have been racing and its adrenaline flowing when face to face with a real threat, its mother nowhere in sight.  I can imagine the internal struggle of being torn between wanting to run for its life and yet knowing that remaining still and hidden was its best defense.

Actually, it’s easy to imagine because I have been there, it is familiar to me.

Often when faced with difficulty I have experienced that very same struggle.  I know intimately the desire to attempt to protect and defend myself in my own strength.  I too have had the urge to run…. from people, from situations, from pain.

My enemies however have never been the kind   which could be outrun.  I know because I really have tried!  Each time though when I was able to get past my emotions and conquer my fear, the Lord would gently take me by the hand and lead me back to deal with those things that needed to be dealt with.  In the presence of my enemies however He whispers to me “Be still, be as quiet as you can, and hide in me.”

 Father, thank you for your Word which in Psalms 9:9 which reminds me” The LORD is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.” You are my hiding place, my deliverer, my comforter, my stronghold in times of trouble and I am so very thankful that I will always find safety beneath the shadow of your wings.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

I would love to hear what you have to say!

