Priority of Purity


 So whoever cleanses himself [from what is ignoble and unclean, who separates himself from contact with contaminating and corrupting influences] will [then himself] be a vessel set apart and useful for honorable and noble purposes, consecrated and profitable to the Master, fit and ready for any good work. (2 Tim 2:21) AMP.

Yellow roses are my absolute favorite.  Glimpsing at their bright and cheerful blooms has the instant ability to gift my heart with cheer.  I was so excited to see the three yellow rose bushes in front of my home come in to full bloom this year.  A gift from my husband at the end of last summer I only had a few weeks of tired blooms to enjoy before they slept during the long winter months.

The arrival of Spring prompted joyful anticipation within of the fullness of beauty that awaited me.  I knew that it was only a matter of time before the kisses of sunshine tightly wrapped within those tiny green buds would come out of hiding and proudly display the talent and majesty of their creator.

When my neighbor stopped by I was more than disheartened when he shared that he noticed an insect infestation.  Indeed, when I got close enough to look, I too was able to see the abundance of miniscule aphids which had taken a liking to my rose bushes.

I did a little research and found a “recipe” for a homemade aphid dispelling remedy which I quickly mixed in my kitchen.  Needing a spray bottle with which to apply the concoction I grabbed the only one I could locate, which was filled with bleach water.  I emptied it, rinsed it, filled it, sprayed it and then did all of that again before filling the vessel with my homemade “aphid annihilator.”

After two days I was happy to see that I had accomplished my goal of dispelling my unwelcomed guests.  I was not happy however at the present condition of my rose bushes.  The once beautiful green and shiny leaves were now dry, dying and covered in ugly brown splotches.  Instantly I knew what had happened.

The vessel which I had chosen to apply the healing liquid balm to my infested rose bushes was not a pure vessel.  I was in such a hurry to use it to serve the purpose for which I had determined that I inadvertently mixed that which it already contained, which was harmful and deadly to my bushes, with the very thing I intended to bring healing. Clearly, the bleach which still remained within that bottle had a detrimental effect on the life and health of my bushes.

2 Corinthians 4:7 tells us that we are earthen vessels filled with beautiful treasure.  The Lord, in his mercy and grace loves us so much that He chooses to allow us to be used for His purposes. Through us He pours out His love, kindness, compassion and healing into the lives of others.  It is an honor to be a chosen and set apart vessel unto the service of the Master.

With this honor we must remember the importance of our own purity.  As much as we are able we must choose to purge ourselves of that which is not honoring to the Lord so that we are able to present ourselves as pure vessels; ready to receive that which He desires to pour into us and out of us without the danger of contaminating those which we pour into with any unnecessary sin which resides within our own hearts or lives.  We must be intentional about continuing to wash ourselves with the Water of the Word and purposeful about maintaining an intimate relationship with our Lord.

Father, help me to do everything in my power to present myself unto you as a vessel, fit for service, which is holy and blameless. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

I would love to hear what you have to say!

