Name Calling


“Your name is who you are.”

I heard this sentence shared from the pulpit on Sunday morning and it has resounded within me since.  Sometimes simplistic truth spoken aloud can have such a significant impact upon one’s heart.

As an elementary school teacher, name calling is an issue that I am forced to contend with on a daily basis.  If only I had a dime for each moment I am approached by an obviously offended six year old whose tearful words spill out “Mrs. Glanzman, so and so called me a (fill in the blank)”

I handle this moment of trauma in the same way almost every time.  I kneel down, look them in the eyes and say in a gentle yet matter of fact voice “well (child’s name) ARE you a (fill in the blank?)  Not once have I ever had them accept or confess to being that which they have been accused of.  Then I say “well then, it doesn’t matter what so and so says, as long as you know who you are, that is all that counts.”

Daughter of God it is important that you know your name.  Within that name, that title, that description lay so very much.  Who you are, how the Father sees you, and what you are entitled to as a child of the King.  Indeed, it is important to know who you are in and through the One who calls you His own.

Even More crucial than knowing your own name however is the importance of knowing the name of Him who has named you.

Our God has made himself known by many different names and many times in life it would benefit us If we did a little name calling!   Regardless of what situation you might find yourself in there is a name and characteristic of God that is available for you to call upon which has the ability to meet you right in the midst of your need.

Although there are several, these are two of my favorites…

EL SHADDAI “God All Sufficient”

There are many times when I feel insufficient.  Times when I fall on my face before the Lord so aware of my own weakness, my own sin and my own inability to walk worthy of the calling to which I have been called.  It is in these times that I call out to my EL SHADDAI, my God All Sufficient, the very one who meets me in all of my insufficiency and who in my weakness has declared that He is made strong.  He is sufficient to meet all of my needs (every single one) according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus. (Phil 4:19)

JEHOVAH ROPHE “The Lord Who Heals”

This is a name of God which I am most familiar with and one I have grasped onto and cried out to many times as I have walked before Him.  Beyond His love and His forgiveness I would have to say that for me, God’s healing is something that I have longed for and well received as a Daughter of God.  In Psalms 147:3 we are told that He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.  Physically, mentally, emotionally, His heart is for us, His children, to be whole with nothing missing and nothing broken.

The next time that you are feeling discouraged, disheartened or just plain down I encourage you to stir up the spirit of God within yourself by focusing on who the LORD has revealed himself to be through the names which He has given himself.  These names are clearly for our benefit, just one more way that Father is reaching out to us, helping us to relate to Him as He truly is and as whom He desires for us to know Him to be.

Father God, thank you for providing for me so many different names by which I may call you.  My heart is overwhelmed as I mediate upon each of your loving characteristics.  Thank you that you are my EL SHADDAI, my JEHOVA ROPHI, my Abba, Daddy, King and Lord.  You are my Savior and my Beloved, You are my everything.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

I would love to hear what you have to say!

