Count the Cost


But when He, the Spirit of Truth (the Truth-giving Spirit) comes, He will guide you into all the Truth (the whole, full Truth). For He will not speak His own message [on His own authority]; but He will tell whatever He hears [from the Father; He will give the message that has been given to Him], and He will announce and declare to you the things that are to come [that will happen in the future].

(John 16:13) AMP

I stood back at “deciding distance” from the counter and looked up in order to fully take in the menu mounted upon the wall.  The friendly uniformed worker gazed at me patiently yet with expectant eyebrows raised, smiling and prepared to receive my request at the exact moment I figured out what it was going to be.

As I was contemplating which delectable deli delight I would treat myself to I was taken slightly aback by a new menu amendment.   Conveniently stationed next to each menu item was its full blown calorie and fat gram count. It took a moment for me to absorb exactly what was staring back at me.   Now married to the names and descriptions of menu items which previously only had attached to them the number which rated their “yumminess factor” on the “Tanya scale,” was a new number, and one that I was much less fond of.   There was no ignorance to be claimed in the choices I proceeded to make now, I knew the exact “cost” of each menu item and how it would impact my well being for the good or for the not so good.

Immediately I had mixed feelings as I basked in this gracious abundance of information.

How kind of the Panara “powers that be” to make sure that I was well informed that the “Full Sierra Turkey on Focaccia with Asiago  cheese” sandwich that I might be tempted to feel good about ordering…after all it is a turkey sandwich- would actually be adding 970 calories and 51 grams of fat to that days diet repertoire.  Did I really want to know that the frozen caramel drink with whip cream weighs in at a whopping 600 calories with 22 grams of fat, and that it would add insult to injury to use that to wash down my very favorite Cobblestone muffin -650 calories, 13 grams of fat?

Life seems to be a never ending paper chain of choice making doesn’t it?    Daily we face decision after decision, many that have to be made in a split second, and which have the ability to affect our lives in a very positive or negative way for even longer than we can imagine.

In similar fashion to that restaurant menu, wouldn’t it be nice if each and every decision that we were faced with was married to a listing of the direct and indirect consequences that that decision would play out into our lives?

As children of God we have help available to us as we are faced with life’s daily choices.  God is so gracious in that He does not require us to depend upon our own knowledge and wisdom to choose rightly, and actually  always strongly suggests against it.

Instead, He has stated in 1 Corinthians 3:16 that He has placed His Holy Spirit to dwell within us.  In John 16:7 we learn that the job description of the Holy Spirit is to be our “helper,” and the thirteenth verse of that same chapter tells us that the Holy Spirit will guide us into all truth. We can be confident that the way of “truth” is always the way which will lead us into the life of abundance that the Father intends for us to have.

Abba Father, thank you for the help that you have made available through the power of the Holy Spirit that lives and dwells within me.  Help me LORD to never lean, trust or rely on myself but instead to always stop and seek your wisdom in each decision that I make.  LORD, help me to be attentive and obedient to your leading because you will always be faithful to lead me into the way of truth

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

I would love to hear what you have to say!

