Trees of Righteousness


Doesn’t it seem that everyone has a favorite season?  I have one friend that LOVES winter-mostly I think because it is the container in which Christmas arrives.  She already has all of her Christmas trees up (yes, I said ALL), and her house is so beautifully decorated that just upon entrance you feel wrapped in Christmas cheer and holiday spirit.  I’ve always admired those people that have a gift of interior decorating… you know those people who when you walk into their home you feel like you’ve walked into a Southern Living magazine?  These tend to be the same people who have culinary giftings which amaze me.  I am so thankful to be at a place in my walk that I no longer look at others giftings and feel inferior because of my lack in that particular area- and I assure you I lack in BOTH of these areas 🙂  Instead, I am now able to enjoy and appreciate what the Lord has placed in those that I love and am surrounded by.  I am particularly thankful when I am invited to one of these individuals houses for dinner and am able to enjoy first hand the beauty of their homes and the yumminess of their food!  Hint, Hint….

At any rate, seasons….  my favorite season is the one we are in right now.  I love Autumn.  I love the transition into warmer, cozier, comfier clothes- particularly jeans and sweatshirts!  I love apple picking and pumpkin patches.   The colors of Fall are my favorite, reds and browns, oranges and yellows….. the beauty in which the leaves change color and fall from the trees so amazes me.  I am so blessed that the Lord placed wondrous beauty within His creation for us to enjoy.  There didn’t HAVE to be colors-all of the leaves could have been green one minute and brown the next.  This makes me arrive at the conclusion that our Father must love things that are beautiful and want to share that beauty with us because of His love for us.

Within the word of God there are many places where we as God’s children are referred to as trees.  Being the “analogy loving woman” that I am I just LOVE this analogy!  Last year at the changing of seasons the Lord prompted me to do a study on trees.  I walked away with a few key thoughts that I would like to share with you.  First of all, a tree is a tree-it doesn’t have to try to be a tree, it just is.  For so many years of my walk with the Lord I was trying to be a daughter of God.  I had such a works based mentality that I felt like a daughter of God when I did “all the right things” and I couldn’t comprehend why God would even want me as His daughter when I didn’t.  It was a happy day indeed when I received the revelation that I AM MY FATHER’S DAUGHTER- regardless of what I am doing or not doing.  Certainly life is better when I make right choices in my life according to the Word that He has given me however, my behavior does not determine my righteousness (right standing with God).  It is what Jesus did for me that has established this fact.  I am now to just “BE” a daughter of God. I have learned that “being” a daughter of God means so many things.  It means spending time with my Father and hearing His voice.  It means receiving His unconditional love and giving Him mine.  It means trusting Him regardless of what things look like and knowing His character well enough to know that His heart is always for me and He is trustworthy.  It means worshiping Him wholeheartedly and allowing Him access to every part of my heart and my life.  The bottom line is…it means RELATIONSHIP.

Jeremiah 17:7-8

[Most] blessed is the man who believes in, trusts in, and relies on the Lord, and whose hope and confidence the Lord is.

For he shall be like a tree planted by the waters that spreads out its roots by the river; and it shall not see and fear when heat comes; but its leaf shall be green. It shall not be anxious and full of care in the year of drought, nor shall it cease yielding fruit.

1 Comment

Filed under Analogies, Uncategorized

One response to “Trees of Righteousness

  1. I loved this story about your life and I was one and still sometimes am one who tries too hard with a tendency to work hard at being His daughter. How refreshing to know others have done and do the same…by the way, I love the fall colors to…reds…deep purples…deep oranges and so on…they are the colors of my house as I love decorating too…many blessings to you and thank you for posting the devotion…brenda

I would love to hear what you have to say!

